Beauty | Lipstick Shades Of The Season (1)

Lipstick2

I own so many lipsticks, what can I say, I like variety in my life and I’m sure that I’m not the only one!

As we enter the bleak, monochrome month of January I tend to move away from pastel shades and opt for deeper, richer tones to compliment the colours of the season.

I thought that I would share with you some of my favourite lipstick shades to add a splash of colour to the opening months of 2015.

1. Rimmel Kate: Shade 01

To kick things off I just *had* to choose a classic red, if you can’t wear red in Winter, when can you wear it? After all it’s Santa Claus’ signature colour.

What I love about Rimmel’s lasting finish lipstick by Kate Moss is that it is, what I would call, a “pure red”. It compliments my fair skin and is also quite suitable for creating a vintage look.

Rimmel 01 KateRimmel 01 Kate 2Kate 01

2. Rimmel Kate: Shade 107

This is one of the shades that I constantly reach for during the Autumn-Winter months, it might look a little dark on first appearances but once applied it is a perfect warm, red wine colour.

Despite being a matte lipstick, it actually has a velvety, creamy texture upon application. It also has excellent staying power, leaving a berry-like stain as the day progresses.

Rimmel 107 Kate

Rimmel 107 Kate 2

Kate 107

3. Rimmel Rich Moisture: Shade 381

Are you noticing a theme here? Yeah, I hold Rimmel’s lipsticks in high regard – mainly for their vast array of shades, high quality at a high street price!

This is a shade darker again, “Astral” (381) is a rich, burgundy colour, basically red with a deep undertone of brown. This differs from the previous entries because it’s a “rich moisture” lipstick – perfect for protecting your lips from the colder weather greeting us this season!

You can really work with this one too so that you have total control over how dramatic you want it to be.

Astral 381

Astral 381 2

Rimmel 381

4. No. 7 Moisture Drench: Shade 30

Moving away from reds now and on to another trend of the season… plum!

The shade is beautiful (no surprise, it’s called “Plum Beautiful“), a slightly softer tone with a glossy, satin finish making it appear quite luxurious. This looks and feels like a high end product but remains affordable.

The lipstick certainly lives up to its other name too (“moisture drench”) with an ultra creamy texture it is completely nourishing, leaving your lips feeling smooth and soft all day long.

No 7 30 Plum Beautiful

No 7 30 Plum Beautiful 2

No. 7 30

5. Rimmel Lasting Finish: Shade 086

This is a plum shade that is more influenced by pink than brown, I’d describe it as a frosty berry pink (aptly named “Sugar Plum”). It has great versatility, easily wearable in the day or to finish off a party look.

Once applied it has a high shine finish and really flattered my lips, making them look quite plump and full. A further plus for this lipstick is its scent, almost like strawberries, mmm!

Rimmel 086 Sugar Plum

Rimmel 086 Sugar Plum 2

Rimmel 086

6. Rimmel Moisture Renew: Shade 360

How about a bright and vibrant pink to brighten up the darker days?

This lipstick (“As You Want Victoria”) is highly pigmented with a creamy formula when applied on the lips, helping to keep them hydrated. I’ve noticed that it has a greater staying power than other Rimmel lipsticks too.

I really think that this shade is quite universal and would flatter all skin tones so why not try it out?

Rimmel 360 As You Want Victoria

360Rimmel 360 As You Want Victoria 2


Well that’s it, my round-up of lipstick shades for the season! I hope that you enjoyed the rundown, just as much as I enjoyed putting it together. Seriously, someone should be writing a blog about the “trials and tribulations of a beauty blogger”, it took quite a few attempts to get a photo of my lips – a simple thing like that! I just couldn’t stop smiling but that really did look quite creepy for the purpose of this post. If only blogs had bloopers!

Which of these lipstick shades is your favourite? Do you have one that you would add to the list?

Lipsticks2“Every woman wants choices, but in the end, none wants to
be one in a box of a hundred. You are giving every girl who wears your lipstick the gift of total ownership.”

– Peggy Olson (Mad Men: Season 1, Episode 6: Babylon)

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “Beauty | Lipstick Shades Of The Season (1)

    • I can understand that, red is quite a bold colour and I know a lot of people approach it cautiously. Perhaps you could start with a simple red gloss, which is a bit more sheer and build from there! I’m sure you will look beautiful either way, wear it and own it! 🙂

      Thanks for dropping in!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love all the bold colors on you! I usually end up wearing shades that are pinkish but I don’t have a favorite brand or color. I used to subscribe to monthly sample boxes and would wear whatever showed up in them. I do have one very matte red that is bluish toned and I actually really like it but have not had the occasion to wear it. I also love when lipsticks smell nice and like how you added that in. I love Mad Men and Peggy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, you’re really too kind! 🙂

      I used to subscribe monthly to ‘Glossybox’ myself, I do like those beauty boxes for trying new products, especially ones that you might not typically have chosen yourself – always good to keep experimenting!

      I imagine a matte red would really suit your hair colour and complexion, hope that you have an opportunity to wear it soon.

      Absolutely adore Mad Men (and Peggy), hoping to do some Mad Men inspired looks in future posts. Watch this space!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Favourites | January 2015 | The Girl in Glasses | Life through a lens

  3. Pingback: Beauty | Lipstick Shades of the Season (2) | The Girl in Glasses | Life through a lens

  4. Pingback: Favourites | October 2015 | The Girl in Glasses | Life through a lens

Leave a Reply

