Blogmas #3 | Manchester Christmas Markets

Header

Due to unforeseen and unfortunate circumstances, I haven’t been able to write a blog post every day throughout December but I’m going to continue to number the entries, as I still hope to get more posts published this month than ever before.

Last week, we took some time out to visit the Manchester Christmas Markets and soak up the festive atmosphere. The Markets started when a small group of German traders visited Manchester in 1998 and it has now snowballed into over 300 chalets and stalls, spreading across the entire city centre.

As well as offering a vast array of delicately crafted Yuletide gifts, there are plenty of festive feasting options. You can choose a sizzling bratwurst, treat yourself to some Hungarian goulash, Spanish paella or a good old Lancashire hotpot. Personally, we make a beeline for the traditional Hog Roast, which is literally Christmas on a barm cake.

If you’re still hungry, then you might be enticed by the sweet scents that fill the air to indulge in a dessert. Again there’s no shortage of options, including crepes, pancakes, chocolates and strudel. I managed to squeeze in a caramel filled waffle, half smothered in melted Nutella chocolate spread. Finally, you can wash it all down with a mug of mulled wine, eggnog or hot chocolate!

I decided to take a few photos as I wandered through the cold streets of Manchester, feeling nothing but warm from the spirit of Christmas. Simply click on the images below to view the larger photos, these were all taken on my mobile phone’s camera, so I hope that you can appreciate that they are not the very best quality.

What has been your favourite day of December so far?

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Blogmas #3 | Manchester Christmas Markets

    • It’s my favourite time of year too, everyone is just that little bit happier! I thought I would share some photos of the Market since I mentioned it in my “25 Things To Do During The Festive Period” blog post. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. …caramel filled waffle with Nutella…well that sounds like my idea of heaven! I will always remain a tad disappointed in myself for never making the short trip to Manchester around this time of year when I was at uni. I should really make that trip one day, it looks great x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Love, Love, Love 10 | Keep Going

Leave a Reply

