September 2015 | Favourite Songs

Since I’ve been on vacation for (pretty much) the whole of September, I had very few products in my possession and out of the items that I did take with me, Maybelline Anti-Age Eraser Eye Concealer and Makeup Revolution’s Mermaids VS. Unicorns Palette were my favourites, which you can read about in my previous post.

So, I decided to make this monthly post a little bit different and write about some of my favourite songs, which I have loved throughout September. Music is part of my every day life in one form or another and that didn’t change whilst I was in America, as we often had the radio playing whilst cruising around!

Let’s get right to it…

Song Banner 1

Marvin Gaye – Charlie Puth ft. Meghan Trainor

This was the very first song that we heard on the radio whilst in America and it quickly became our “holiday song” because it seemed to be played everywhere, which is hardly surprising as it’s truly addictive!

I love the retro 1950’s stylings of the song, which seem to fit in nicely with Trainor’s catalogue so far but that’s not to say that it isn’t suited to Puth, an artist that we know very little about (yet). I think the blend of the female and male vocals works perfectly.

Overall, it’s an upbeat, sugary sweet, mid-tempo pop song that should come with a warning: If you listen to this track, it will be stuck in your head all day long.

Song Banner 2

Shut up and Dance – Walk the Moon

Oh em gee. I was introduced to this band whilst listening to the radio in America, only to discover that the indie rock group formed in 2008, WHAT? How did they not appear on my radar before now?

Again, this is a throwback sound but this time they’re bringing back the 80’s! This has to be the song of the summer; it’s such a fun, feel-good track. It also delivers a positive message of letting go of whatever is holding you back; get into your body and out of your head!

Expect synthesizers and rock guitars…

Song Banner 3

Hold My Hand – Jess Glynne

Do you see a commonality between these songs? …They’re all so uplifting!

This song played a lot throughout our holiday too but most memorably when we visited Universal’s CityWalk, which is a place that already has such a lively atmosphere but throw this song into the mix and life couldn’t get much sweeter.

It’s a mainstream pop song with a twist, perhaps that’s thanks to Glynne’s unique vocals, which glide at the forefront of a persistent beat.

A perfect soundtrack for the summer months! Ooh-ooh-ooh!

So if you’re already missing summer as we slip further into the new season or need to increase your mood by 100% then these songs should have you covered, at least I think so!

What was your favourite song during September?

signature

Follow my blog on Bloglovin

14 thoughts on “September 2015 | Favourite Songs

  1. I 10/10 recommend anything by Walk the Moon, I randomly discovered them in 2012 and it was the best thing ever. They are so good and Shut Up and Dance is definitely currently my happy song. Although I fall in the camp of really not liking the Marvin Gaye song, probably because it will always get stuck in my head haha x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Adele, great you’re back. Hope you enjoyed your vacation.

    I haven’t been on the bloggosphere for myself for quite some time now but hopefully I’ll come back on track.
    Apropos track 🙂 nice post about your favourite songs. Haven’t heard of those songs, yet. Will you write more regarding music in the future?
    CU

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Jonathan! It’s nice to hear from you, I hope that you’ve been kept away from the blogosphere for some exciting reason! Let me know what you think of the songs. I might write about music again, if people liked this post. I always seem to be listening to SOMETHING! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

