Lifestyle | Graduation Grievances

I know that many people are now edging closer to G-day, I have even been following a few bloggers journeys through education and this made me reflect on my own graduation, which is unbelievably 2 years ago now!

When I received the invitation to my graduation ceremony, I was filled with elation, I was almost at the finish line but then the cynic within me started to offset all of this positivity with the more questionable aspects of the event. My biggest gripe with the ceremony was the outfit and I’m not meaning to appear vain, it’s merely an observation.

Seriously though – what is with that mortarboard hat?

Grad

Does his head come with the hat?

What is the idea of this forehead-hugging flat board on your head? Are you going to be serving hors d’oeuvres to the guests from those? The icing on the cake has to be the tassel, why not go all out and have bells and whistles too? If you’re reading this now and you have a graduation approaching, think about customisation, it’s time to set a new standard for all future grads.

As for the “gown”, again, my question would be why? Why, God, why? (That’s 3 “why’s” because I really do not know). After years of being a student, you are closing your time sporting a cape, how conceited is that? You’re some kind of freaking superhero now that you have a degree; you’re also one step away from drawing a lightning bolt on your head and changing your initials to H.P. or spending the remainder of your student loan on a lightsaber.

To really hammer the final nail in the coffin, the “costume”, and I’m categorising it as a costume because it’s pretty much fancy dress to me, is black – doesn’t that just funeralise the whole affair? What is this, the death of your social life?

I did wonder though, was this the final test? With all of the challenges that came with achieving a degree, was this to be the greatest trial of all? If you can pass this, you can face anything, even joining the queue for the unemployed.

Congratulations to everyone that is graduating in 2015, remember to take plenty of photos, which siblings can later use against you as a form of bribery!

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “Lifestyle | Graduation Grievances

  1. My graduation was nearly a year ago now and the mortarboard filled me with dread for weeks beforehand because hats and stuff are just not my thing. And also my hood thing kept falling around and going all askew so I was constantly rearranging it. But I got through that, just working no getting out of the unemployment queue now haha!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Haha wow, I’m pleased that I wasn’t the only one that felt that way about the whole affair, plus it was scorching hot the day that I graduated, so I could have done without the sun-absorbing blanket! We got through it Sophie ^5

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mine was in a cathedral which made everything hotter than it probably actually was, and then there was a long walk to actually receive my degree so I lived in fear of falling flat on my face in front of hundreds of people haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I luckily only had two steps either side to deal with but they were the deceptive kind, so shallow but really wide in between inclines, a recipe for disaster basically. They defo seem to be guiding towards some kind of failure right as everything is almost done!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

