Motivational Monday | Create Your Own Opportunities

Motivational

Every great dream begins with a dreamer, though it’s important to realise that your dreams won’t always just happen to you; you may have to reach for them. If you find that opportunities don’t present themselves, don’t just wait around, put yourself out there and build a door; make your own opportunity.

Whether it’s a romantic pursuit, forging your career path, travelling around the world or [insert your own dream here] — act now, self-motivation is the key to lasting change. It doesn’t matter how far out of reach your dream or goal might feel at this present moment, create a plan and take steps in the right direction every day, even something as small as keeping a journal of your reflections, goals and progress can be beneficial.

I recently read an article about creating your own luck written by author Peter Economy, which encouraged me to share my five tips on the topic:

  • Optimism is key – Studies have proven that more than 80% of people, who feel that they’re lucky, actually work harder towards creating their own good luck (go figure)! Optimism makes you resilient, even during those times that “luck” might not be on your side!
  • Be open to possibilities – Even if an opportunity is only indirectly related to your end goal, take it. The more that you put yourself out there, the more chances you have of getting noticed and/or taking steps toward what you want.
  • Trust your intuition – It may sometimes take quite a leap of faith to reach your dream, especially if your dream is big but don’t let fear control you. Listen to your inner voice and follow it, often it will turn out right and even if it doesn’t, you won’t be living in regret.
  • Dream BIG – We have all heard the saying, “shoot for the moon, if you land you will fall amongst the stars” — whatever your dream, the moment that you start working towards it, you will find that more opportunities will arise. Seize any opportunities that come your way, they all count for something!
  • It’s not a race – You’re not Usain Bolt, don’t rush towards your dream and fall down at the first hurdle, and if you do fall, get back up again and keep going. A dream is a dream because it’s not easily achievable! There is no finish line, continue to learn and grow throughout the process.

Screen Shot 2013-01-31 at 19.52.04

Do what excites you…

You never know when the moment will come that could change the course of your life forever, and for the better.

What are some of your dreams and what are you doing to achieve them? If you have any additional tips or advice, please share them in the comments below!

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

12 thoughts on “Motivational Monday | Create Your Own Opportunities

  1. Hi Adele, I’m playing catchup on my blogs so just reading this now. My dream is/was always to be a writer. I didn’t used to care about being paid for it, though now I feel that I want a job that will pay me to write. I thought I could study some computer programming and get into the tech scene in NYC (which is huge & lucrative) but ym computer class is very difficult. I still think I can combine the writing skills with tech and come up with some niche that someone wants that is unique and will pay. I do believe in myself and one way ormanother I’ll get there. Thanks for your posts on Mondays – they are my favorites 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for dropping by, I’m glad that you like the Motivational Monday series, as I enjoy writing these posts too. I know that you will find what you’re looking for, you just have to keep doing whatever you can to help towards that. This is quite relatable to my life at the moment, hope to see some good results come back from my efforts soon, will let you know how it goes. Wishing you the best, always!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Love, Love, Love Week 2 | Keep Going

Leave a Reply

