Motivational Monday | Be YOU-nique

you

Following on from last week’s Motivational Monday post “Pleased to meet you”, where we discussed being considerate to others rather than turning a blind eye to the figures passing us by, this week I wanted to discuss YOU.

Have you ever been in a situation where you’ve inadvertently or explicitly been told to be different?

Perhaps it was during a review day in school, where the teacher expressed to your parents that you’re too quiet/too loud… and you would think to yourself “but that’s me.”

Or following an interview, you’re told that you missed out on the job because your skills didn’t match their criteria… and you would think to yourself “but that’s me.”

It’s fallacious to think that you might even consider changing part of yourself for the sake of someone else. Sure, we’re always naturally changing and growing as individuals but why not stop and just appreciate who you are? Don’t allow anyone to dictate who you are or what you should be, you’re not a character in a book being created in the mind of an author. Don’t let anyone or anything hold you back, celebrate who you are because there’s not another one of you on the planet… you’re completely YOU-nique.

Since my lovely readers appeared to enjoy my Motivational Monday thoughts in poetry form last week, I thought that I would share another with you this time around…

This is me

be you

People may think that I am weak

I have strength inside of me

People can try to knock me down

I will stand tall with my feet firmly on the ground

 

They may share their words but don’t listen

Free yourself from that mental prison

 

Stay strong and carry on

Don’t let them see you in another form

I know what I can be

The endless possibilities

 

Every step is a leap

Every experience I will keep

 

Don’t have doubts

Don’t look back

Keep looking forward

Leave the past

 

Wear your smile and keep the faith

Succeed in all that comes your way

Be who you want to be

And I, in turn, will be me

freedom

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “Motivational Monday | Be YOU-nique

  1. I’ve heard the “your too quiet”, “you should be more out going”, “your too laid back” for some time now. I even tried being something I wasn’t but it was exhausting. I finally decided that I am what I am, and its more than enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah thanks so much, I love connecting with bloggers on other platforms too, the WordPress reader can get so busy! I’ve followed you back on both, looking forward to catching up with you and your blog x

      Like

Leave a Reply

