Motivational Monday | How To Be Happy & Healthy In 2015!

56ee28533ce5fb9eb3ccb310e07170d6

The only wish that I ever have for a new year is to be happy and healthy, I’ve found over time that I have been able to achieve this by only making very small adjustments to my lifestyle. So whilst I’m certainly no ‘happiness’ doctor (even though that would be a swell job) and I’m not naive to the other factors that can contribute to a persons overall well-being, I thought that I would share the simple things that I do to boost my mood:

Sleep

We don’t think much of sleep, in our busy lives, we catch it when we can and often find ourselves distracted by the many more interesting things that we could be doing… but sleep is so important – not only the amount you need and this differs from person to person, though I’d suggest a minimum of 7 hours, but also keeping a regular sleeping pattern. This is one thing that I didn’t manage whilst at University but have since corrected now that I’m in employment. It’s so beneficial to stick to a “bed time” if possible (I promise you I’m not 5 years old) and set an alarm for waking up. If I find myself falling out of a routine now, I feel much worse off for it.

anna

…on a good day

Vitamin D

I would always recommend a healthy and balanced diet but the reason that I suggest Vitamin D is because I think this is more likely to be the one we’re deficient in, depending on lifestyle our intake can be quite limited. For instance, I sit indoors working at my desk all day, Monday-to-Friday, Vitamin D comes from natural sunlight and eating oily fish (not a regular feature on my personal menu). Vitamin D is known as the “happiness” vitamin so either start getting natural sunlight more often (good luck if you’re in the UK), eat more fish items or consider a supplement — only if you think you may be deficient.

Music

This recommendation is a little more off-beat but music is good for the soul or so they say (don’t ask me who). I love to have a playlist of my favourite songs or lyrics with meaning during those moments that you might need a ‘pick-me-up’. It might not work for everyone but I believe that some songs can really cause instant happiness or, at least, an adjustment in attitude.

Here is a sneak Feel Good Playlistpeak at my own playlist:

Truly inspired!

Make time for ‘me’-moments

Many of us lead such busy lives but it’s really important to take note of those things that we love to do, whether it’s sitting down to read a book, curl up on the sofa with a movie (anything Disney is preferable) or we can even blog about whatever is on our mind here on WordPress! We need to make sure to set time aside for these things because we deserve it — and I’m sure it’s well earned if we have to ‘set time aside’ for it in the first place. A couple of hours spent doing something that you truly love is likely to add an extra spring to your step!

Keep a diary

I think that it’s a really good idea to document your days, this can help you to manage your feelings and emotions, sometimes adding a bit of perspective when it’s right there in front of you in black and white. A diary can be very private, a space for you to share your deepest secrets or it can be more public, even through a blog, where you can share your thoughts with like-minded individuals and open it up to discussion. I also think it’s nice to treasure the memories to look back on when you may be feeling blue, I’m quite old-fashioned in that I like to have hand-written memories and printed out photographs, rather than just relying on Facebook statuses and Instagram!

diary

I hope that you enjoyed reading about the ways that I try to stay happy and healthy, I’d love you to share some of the things that you do below too!

Your Monday is whatever you make it – so make it a good one!

signature

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

23 thoughts on “Motivational Monday | How To Be Happy & Healthy In 2015!

    • Thanks for the extra advice. I hadn’t realised just how much of a difference it would make, I lead a healthy lifestyle but that doesn’t always mean that we’re getting the right amount of goodness that we need from everything!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad that you agree. I’m a bit of a foodie myself, it’s always good to identify those things that make you happy and implement them as part of your lifestyle. Some people forget the importance of taking care themselves!

      Like

  1. I really love your playlist, which has a lot of songs I recognize and love (and actually sang in my head as I read through the list), and a couple that I didn’t recognize (for me to look into so I can appreciate their good vibes)! Thanks for sharing your advice!
    Maggie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Motivational Monday | The Science of Happiness | The Girl in Glasses | Life through a lens

Leave a Reply

