GREAT SCOTT, It’s 2015!

Dear GiGletts,

If my calculations are correct, you will receive this letter shortly after you cross into 2015. First, let me assure you that I am alive and well. I’ve been living happily these past four months in the year 2014. I started my blog during a very busy period in my life, transitioning from the safety of educational institutions to going it alone in the “real world” (like Brooks Hatlen from The Shawshank Redemption but less dramatic).

Thankfully, I managed to secure a career fairly quickly but then found myself completely dedicated to it. While there’s nothing wrong with that, I’m hoping after a year of becoming more settled that I can find more time for my personal interests and chatting to you all! Of course, everyone starts a new year with the best of intentions and I’m not really one to set myself up for a fall, often witnessing resolutions crash and burn before we’re even through with the first month on our calendars. So this got me thinking, what are the most popular goals that we set our sights on as Big Ben strikes midnight on December 31st?

Lose weight & exercise more

As we come out of our festivitus sugar comas, the guilt from our Christmas conscience sets in and we often find ourselves promising to shed the pounds from January 1st …but how likely is that with all of those Christmas choccies to finish? Once it’s gone, it’s gone (on your hips).

exercise

Gym memberships are overrated anyway.

Get organised!

I don’t know why we think that the changing of a number in our years date will alter the behaviour and habits of a lifetime but nevertheless we find ourselves with a newfound commitment to take control of our lives — usually signalled by the purchasing of a diary in the Boxing day sales, never to be touched again.

grinch

Take up a hobby

Give into your urge to try something new or weird – buy a keyboard (and “Keyboard for Dummies” book), take cake decorating classes or learn to ride a unicycle. However, if you find that your January bank balance doesn’t quite agree with your new ventures, you could always settle for making outfits for animals… out of curtains.

rapunzel

Rapunzel. #LifeGoals

Best of luck to all of those that have drawn up a list of resolutions for 2015!

Your friend in time,

signature
January 2, 2015.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

